3 things I love about writing sexy romance – allyson lindt

Welcome Allyson Lindt!

allysonlindt
Allyson is a full-time geek and a fuller-time contemporary romance author. She prefers that her geeky heroes come with the alpha expansion pack and adores a heroine who can hold her own in a boardroom. She loves a sexy happily-ever-after and helping deserving cubicle dwellers find their futures together.

***Correction to prize giveaway****

Allyson will be awarding prizes as follows:

  • Grand prize at the end of the four week tour – a Kindle paperwhite to one randomly drawn winner.  Click here to enter to win!
  • Each week, one randomly drawn commenter will win a $10 Amazon GC

Today, she would like to share with all of us 3 things she loves about writing sexy romance.

Take it away Allyson!

Once upon a time, when I first started seriously writing adult stories (as opposed to young adult stories), I wondered just how much was acceptable in a love scene. I’d read books that continued into the bedroom, romance and general fiction. But this was back in the days before eBooks, and if those explicit books were on the bookstore shelves, I certainly didn’t know where to find them (this is one side effect of being raised in a sheltered environment, surrounded by friends who came from the same).

One of the issues with that (besides the lack of a good sex scene that existed within an actual story), was I wanted to be writing them into my books, and I didn’t know if it was “allowed”.

Fortunately, I’ve since then figured out that I’m not the only person who enjoys some intense sexiness with my books. With that knowledge, comes three things I love about writing it myself.

Testing and blocking positions with my spouse

Because one of the more jarring things about a good bedroom scene is being right in the middle of the intense pleasure, and then stopping to try and figure out when she grew a third arm, how he’s kneeling like that without tearing a hamstring, or how she possibly got her hand to where it is without dislocating something.

So, when in doubt, I ask my sweetie to help me block it out. There’s a lot of fun involved in that kind of research.

 Imagining all sorts of new places to get intimate.

Bedrooms are quiet, personal, and sometimes a little dull. This is fiction, after all, and that provides some risk-taking possibilities that might not be plausible in real life. If you’re the author, you can make sure no one walks in at a bad time.

So, I love thinking of new, risky, and sexy places to get it on. Dressing room, sound room at the karaoke bar, the dark showroom in a comic shop after hours—the possibilities are all but endless.

 Reading hot books by other authors to keep myself current

I hear it said time and again that a good writer also reads. This is so true, not only to keep current with market trends, to know what other people are writing (read one of today’s bestsellers versus twenty years ago, or even five… Things change), but also to keep the creativity flowing. I find when I’m stuck in my own writing, reading a good book tends to knock the ideas loose.

And what better way to keep abreast of current romance than to read as much as I can get my hands on.

That’s my top 3 list. Tell me, what do you enjoy most about reading or writing in your favorite genre?

Allyson would also like to share with us a bit about her book, Conflict of Interest. 

ConflictOfInterest

BLURB:

Kenzie propositions a sexy stranger in a coffee shop to prove to herself she’s capable of taking a risk. She doesn’t expect him to be sitting across from her the following Monday as her newest client. Even worse, she can’t stop thinking about what might have happened between them on a personal level if it weren’t for their professional relationship. He knows how to push her buttons, and she doesn’t want him to stop.

Scott has built his software company from the ground up to escape things like stuffy old men telling him how to behave, so he loathes his board of directors ordering him to make the public forget he doesn’t have a verbal filter. When his new publicity manager is the almost-fling he never expected to see again, he seizes the opportunity to have fun and still pretend he’s complying with the board’s edict.

Giving in to desire could mean both their jobs, but each “one last time” always leads to another. Now they have to decide what they’re willing to sacrifice to indulge this conflict of interest.

To read an Excerpt from Conflict of Interest

To Find Allyson Lindt:

Website: http://allysonlindt.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Allyson-Lindt/116062025108551

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AllysonLindt

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7024176.Allyson_Lindt

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/author/allysonlindt

 

12 thoughts on “3 things I love about writing sexy romance – allyson lindt”

    1. Hehehe, considering it can’t be easy being married to someone who has their heads in the clouds with fictional people so much of the time (me), I like to hope it’s a worthwhile benefit 😉

Leave a Reply

