Villains: My Top Ten and Why I Love Them – N. N. Light

Every good story has a villain (antagonist) and I love them. Sometimes I love them more than I love the main character. I really got into villains through watching Joss Whedon’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer television show. Here is my top ten villains of all time:

1- Darla from Buffy the Vampire Slayer: She is one of my all-time favorite villains. She is one of the first vampires we encounter on the show and one of the reasons why I love her is because she is pure evil. She doesn’t care who she bites and loves being a vampire. I love it when she and Buffy go at it. She kicks ass and if you’re not careful, she will turn you into a vampire.

2- Dracula: Who doesn’t love the suave ways of Dracula? He can hypnotize you with a look and make you swoon, neck extended. He knows what he wants and he doesn’t care who stands in his way. He’s educated, knows how to treat a woman and can disappear with a flap of a bat wing. He’s one of my favorite villains to cheer on and I laugh when idiots try to get in his way.

3- Professor James Moriarty: The greatest detective in the world needs the greatest villain to defeat. While Sherlock Holmes is one of my favorite literary characters, I do adore Moriarty. He is devious, brilliant, has an underground empire and when Sherlock foils too many of his plans, he wages war. The Final Problem is the perfect illustration of what happens when the greatest detective battles the greatest villain.

4- Lamia Zacharius: For those of you who are unfamiliar, Lamia Zacharius is head vampire and ultimate big bad in the Death Coach series by J. N. Williamson. If you love vampires and want to be scared out of your skin, you have to read this series. What I love about Lamia is while she looks like a young child, she is in fact more deadly than anything you have ever experienced. She has a plan and she’s in charge of a gang of evil vampires. So delicious and scary!

5- Sauron: The all-seeing eye from Lord of the Rings is on a mission and he won’t stop until he has the ring of Power back in his possession. He can take over any being and no one is immune to his prowess. I’m impressed with his army and the way he conducts business. He tortures Golum for the truth and then hunts down poor Bilbo all in order to rule Middle Earth. He is pure evil and he’s the epitome of greed.

6- Hannibal Lecter: Ah yes, Hannibal. I see him as a modern-day Dracula. Sure, he likes to eat people (especially if it is with some fava beans and a nice Chianti) but he has standards. While reading his story, I loved the way he got under people’s skin. He used his mental capabilities to entice and lure people into his lair. I rooted for him throughout the whole series.

7- The Phantom of the Opera: I couldn’t do a top ten without listing my favorite tragic villain. The Phantom loves to torment the players of the opera house and his heart is captured by Christine. Throughout the whole story, I root for Erik aka the Phantom. He has lived a tragic isolated life and all he wants is someone to love. I swoon every time I read it.

8- The Master from Buffy the Vampire Slayer: I know I have already done a villain from Buffy but I also love the Master. He is an old vampire and he loves being one. He is a contrast to Angel and it shows me what it means to be the leader of a vampire clan. He is in charge and when people fail him, he resorts to violence and mayhem. His encounters with Buffy are filled with sarcastic quips and they are well-matched. He shows what it means to stay alive, so to speak, in a world filled with slayers and have fun doing it. A bad-ass in my book and I wouldn’t want to meet him in a dark alley.

9- Lord Voldemort: He is the big bad of this generation and when J. K. Rowling invented him, I was pleased. For far too long, there were wimpy villains in children’s literature. I wanted, no needed, a villain I could sink my teeth in and Lord Voldemort fits the bill. He is a man on a mission and with his band of followers, he wreaks havoc on Harry Potter and the world. I love how calculating he is and has been since he was Tom Riddle. He is the perfect Anti-Dumbledore and with each book in the series, we learn more about him. I find irresistible how love defeated him the first time he came after Harry and how no matter how much evil is in the world, love is still the reigning champion. Classic villain and I totally cheer him on!

10- Darth Vader: Growing up in the seventies, Darth Vadar was the first big bad I encountered and I still have a soft spot for him. *heavy breathing* “Luke, I am your father.” This quote still brings delicious shivers down my back. He is a great villain for many reasons but the best one is his ability to use the Force for his own purposes. I mean, who does that? Your resort in the sky aka Death Star gets destroyed by a bunch of rebels and you choke one of your minions for talking back without touching him. Brilliant. Darth Vadar is a black or white thinker and that is part of his charm. You’re either for him or against him.

I hope you enjoyed my top ten. I had such fun creating my own big bad and villains when I wrote Princess of the Light. I thought I would introduce you to two of my favorites, twin demons Rachel and Ryan.

princess Excerpt:

I screamed, “Joe, stop!”

I knew it was a demon ambush and started to run after Joe.

The demons, which my heart instantly recognized as Rachel and Ryan, turned to see me glowing with purple Light running towards them. They let go of André and he fell to the ground. They smiled at each other and started their incantation.

Thankfully, Joe stopped in his tracks.

I caught up with him, and without stopping, yelled, “Stay behind that tree.” Joe nodded and I ran to confront the chanting, demonic twins. André was curled up in a fetal position on the ground with his eyes closed.

When I was about fifty feet away from the twins, I stopped, planted my feet shoulder-width apart and said slightly out of breath, “Well, what do we have here?” Please help me know what to do next, I prayed.

Rachel half-smiled at me and said mid-chant, “Your Light will not work here, little girl. You’re on demonic grounds.” I had never heard of such a thing. She’s a demon. She’s probably lying, I coached myself.

I cocked my head and said, “Really?” She didn’t know the question was for both of us. I looked down and saw that my skin was brightly glowing purple.

Summoning all the faith I could, I swirled my hands above my head and recited the Lord’s Prayer. Two iridescent hurricanes flew at the female demon. The female demon screamed and disappeared in a flash of purple Light.

Ryan stopped chanting and looked with horror at the spot where his sister was a moment ago. He glared at me and said, “Rachel was stupid but I am not. I will not fall for your tricks. I can see your fear and you will not defeat me.”

Title: Princess of the Light

Author: N. N. Light

Blurb:

Gabriel, the Archangel and Messenger of God – yeah that Gabriel, visited Mary Miller. He told her, as the key she is destined to spread the Light and vanquish the Darkness. Her first assignment is to restore the soul of the Walking Man. Sounds simple enough until she’s thrown in the face of evil, and then Joe Deacons enters her heart. This battle just got a lot more complicated. She must complete her mission without losing all she loves.

Book Cover Graphic Artist Credit:

Illustration : streamy digital

Model : VictoriaAndrea

Photo : shutterstock/depositphoto

Buy Links:

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/469480

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/princess-of-the-light-nn-light/1120170709?ean=9781502438454

Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Princess-Light-N/dp/1502438453/ref=la_B00N277I4E_1_1_title_1_pap?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1411398988&sr=1-1

Amazon Canada: http://www.amazon.ca/Princess-Light-N-ebook/dp/B00N19FDKO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1409690022&sr=8-1&keywords=princess+of+the+light

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Princess-Light-N-ebook/dp/B00N19FDKO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1409689955&sr=8-1&keywords=princess+of+the+light

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-CA/ebook/princess-of-the-light-1

Indigo: http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/princess-of-the-light/9781310880230-item.html?ikwid=princess+of+the+light&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=0

iTunes/ iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/princess-of-the-light/id913013798?mt=11

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23009005-princess-of-the-light

Newsletter:

Sign up for my Princess of the Light newsletter to get exclusive content on all things book and writing related: http://ymlp.com/xghjsueygmgh

N N Light Author Pic1Author Bio:

N. Light was born in Minnesota, lived in Southern California only to move to chilly Ontario, Canada to marry her beloved husband MR N. She is blissfully happy and loves all things chocolate, books, music, movies, art, sports and baking. Most of the time you can find her on Twitter or getting new ideas on how to spread the Light on Pinterest.

Part of the proceeds of Princess of the Light will go directly to food banks in order to feed the hungry and help those in need. With only 7,500 books sold, N. N. Light will be able to set up a monthly endowment for the local food bank.

I’d love to connect with you either via email or via these various social media sites:

Website: http://princessofthelight.com

Blog: http://princessofthelight.wordpress.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/nnlight

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/NNP_W_Light

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/nnlight

Email: nnlight@outlook.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/PrincessOTLight

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/n-n-light/90/1a7/902

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/118060034268079734144/posts

Triberr: http://www.triberr.com/nnlight

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/author/nnlight

Independent Author Network: http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/n-n-light.html

I wanted to take a moment and thank Alisa for having me on her blog today. I really appreciate your generosity.

You are most welcome my dear.  Come back anytime =)

~Alisa

Sign up for Alisa Anderson – BitchesBeWritn’ Newsletter.

2 thoughts on “Villains: My Top Ten and Why I Love Them – N. N. Light”

Leave a Reply

