Dragons by Jaycee Edward @JayceeEdward @GoIndiMarketing

Dragons-evernightpublishing-jayaheer2014-ver3-FinalCoverTitle: Dragons
Author: Jaycee Edward
Publisher: Evernight Publishing
Genre: M/M, Contemporary
Category: Romance On The Go / Novella
Length: 10,900 words

BOOK LINKS:

Amazon | Evernight Publishing

 

BLURB:

A chance encounter in a hospital waiting room between twenty-two year old Will Messina and sixteen year old Josiah Pinkerton ends with a gift of a stuffed dragon off the hospital gift cart and a memory neither of them can shake.

Five years later, when a lonely, buttoned-up Will ventures into a gay club, he spots a pale, leather-clad specter with violet eyes tracking his every move. Will realizes he’s being watched by the grown version of the boy who’s haunted his thoughts for years.

Joey recognizes Will, but he’s no longer the sweet, brown-eyed boy worthy of Will’s attention. He’s damaged and defective and lives in a different world than Will now. When his childhood crush makes his way across the bar, Joey doesn’t have time to decide whether to be enchanted or dismayed because, unless he turns and runs, those worlds are about to collide.

AUTHOR BIO:

Jaycee Edward is no longer seventeen years old but don’t tell her that. She’s actually a tad older and lives in northeast Ohio with her handsome husband and one, big gorgeous dog. She has two grown stepdaughters and is proud to be the ultra-cool Nana to two amazingly incredible grand-teens. Jaycee loves pistol shooting and is has earned her Bar 7 Sharpshooter status in the Winchester/NRA Marksmanship Qualification Program and hopes to someday reach the level of Expert Marksman. She is proud to be the token liberal at her gun range. Jaycee knows way too much about the inner workings of Walt Disney World and anything related to One Direction. She’d love to pull you into the rabbit hole with her. All you have to do is ask. Find her there or contact her through social media.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website

Facebook

FB Author Page

Twitter

Google+

Goodreads

TSŪ

Ello

Tumblr

GIVEAWAY DETAILS:

Rafflecopter – $15.00 Gift Certificate from Evernight Publishing.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tell us about your current work in process and what you’ve got planned for the future.

I’m working in bits and pieces on a story about two homeless young men, Tommy and Shane.  I first wrote about them in a holiday flash fiction blog hop and got a fantastic response with people saying they wanted more.  I actually had people friending me on Facebook and PMing me with, “Pleeeease! I need to know they get a happy ending!”  It’s amazing, isn’t it, how us readers take these characters and hold them in our hearts?  I was really shocked at how many people contacted me outside the blog hop itself to beg for a happy ending for these fictional boys. I’ve written a few Monday Flash Fics with them since then and I’ve been working on fleshing out their story. It’s not a happy one to begin with, so it’s not a storyline I throw myself into for any length of time – it’s too upsetting to be in that headspace for long.

Helena Stone and I are also deep into the continuation of Callum and Slade’s story from our novella, Strangers In The Night. Again, readers asked for more and those men started chattering at us as soon as we finished the first book, anyway – and you don’t tell Callum, ‘no.’

And, most important to me, yet always on the back burner it seems, is my novel, Stay. It’s my baby. It’s written, but I have a few changes I want to make as well as self-edits before I submit it. Book two is half written as well, and I keep adding to it as inspiration strikes – which is usually in the shower.

We’ve all got a little voyeurism in us right?  If you could be a fly on the wall during an intimate encounter between two characters, not your own, who would they be?

Easy. Michael and Griffin from The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz.  I’ve sat here and tried to figure out how to explain why, but, the bottom line is, if you ‘know’ them, you’ll understand. If you don’t, no combination of words from me is worthy enough to explain it.

What internet site do you surf to the most?

Oh, gosh. You’re going to make me say it, aren’t you? Tumblr.

But not for the reasons you think! Or maybe it is, depending on how well you know me. When you open my Tumblr these days, you won’t get the exploding dildos like the meme we’ve all seen.  (Don’t get me wrong – you might see a few…)  Mostly you’ll see 1D and Larry Stylinson stuff.  That’s my not-the-least-bit-guilty-pleasure. It’s my happy place and I go there to decompress and giggle over the amazing humor of the kids that post stuff there.  If their posts are any indication, the future is going to be fun as hell because these kids have some wicked intelligent creativity.

Where did the desire to write M/M romance come from?

I started writing a M/F story called Brick By Brick. It was coming along nicely, but about a third of the way into it, I happened to start reading The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz. The second book in the series, The Angel, has a M/M love story in it – the first I’d ever read – and I was instantly captivated. The love story between Griffin and Michael is still, to this day, the most beautiful love story I’ve ever read.  I wanted more.  That’s when I found there was an entire M/M genre. I started devouring the books as fast as they were recommended to me. Power Exchange and Safeword by AJ Rose, The Locker Room by Amy Lane, the Cut & Run series by Abi Roux… That was it – I was a goner – even my own M/F couldn’t hold my interest. Ha.

If you had your own talk show, who would your first five author guests be and why?

Well, since I’m only picking my first five, the pressure is off a little. I can invite all the hundreds of others later, right?  Cool, so here goes:

Tiffany Reisz – first and foremost. Didn’t even have to think about that one. She is my reason (for pretty much everything) and I’ve had the pleasure of meeting her, but it was way too short and I need more.  She’s the sweetest little spitfire and would never let the conversation stall.

Secondly, Helena Stone. She’s been my co-writer (Strangers In The Night), my NaNoWriMo partner, my soul-sister, my web-wife, we share a brain, we’re pretty sure we were separated at birth and now we’re separated by a big-ass body of water. I will meet her – it’s just a matter of when. This talk show seems like as good a time as any.

As for the other three, I’m going to be totally selfish here and say Edmond Manning, AJ Rose and Theo Fenraven – not just because I absorb every one of their words like a sponge – but because I’ve become genuinely fond of them online and would love to just hang out with the humans behind the virtual personas.

What’s the one thing, you can’t live without?

Several things pop into my head and just as quickly I can be realistic and say, “I guess I could live without that.”  Things I’d hate to live without include my iPad, iMac, iPhone, iPod, iKindle… er, I mean just-Kindle… But the truth is, I can live without all those material things. I can live without internet. I can live without my dog… my family… my friends… my hearing… my eyesight…  I can’t honestly think of a thing I can’t live without unless you start talking organs, but at a certain point, when does life become not worth living? Maybe that’s the real question, huh?

What’s harder, naming your characters, creating the title for your book or the cover design process?

So far, all my characters have pretty much named themselves with one exception. (Callum in Strangers In The Night. My co-writer on that one and I had to do a little internet research on Scottish names.)  Book covers I’ve been lucky with too.  Jay Aheer totally nailed the Dragons cover – Joey couldn’t be any more perfect and I’m still drooling over the cover.  So, I guess titles are the toughest.

I have a problem losing my titles to other authors. Like losing Stay to Riley Hart, it happened on this book too.  It was originally going to be part of an anthology and titled Radioactive, but while chatting with an author friend, she mentioned she had planned on using Radioactive for her piece, which was destined for the same anthology. As she told me her storyline, Radioactive seemed to fit her story better than mine, so I told her I’d pick something else. Dragons was the only other obvious title and I actually like it better for this story now, anyway, so I owe her a big ‘thank you.’  The anthology never happened but Dragons managed to survive!

If you could trade places with one of your characters, who would it be and why?

Such an easy question. I’d trade places with Luke from my novel Stay. (Which isn’t ‘out’ yet.) Several reasons for that choice:  Luke just loves life and is pretty easy-going. He’s also the only one who can bring any happiness to Mason’s life and I love Mason so much – I just want him to be happy. Lastly, no one on earth has ever been loved as much as Mason loves Luke.

If you could travel forward or backward in time, where would you go and why?

I’d never go forward. I don’t want the disappointments of finding out we still haven’t achieved equality, or we’ve destroyed the planet and have to live in bubbles or something.  I’d love to go backward though. How far back? Wow – now that’s an intriguing question. Would I go back within my own lifetime to change things?  Or would I go even further back to Victorian times (nope) or the wild, wild west (nope) or maybe medieval times?  Hmm – yes, I think maybe the days of King Arthur… or not… I’m not one for big, heavy dresses… or… just dresses, really.  The time of dinosaurs?  Too scary.  I think the time I’d most like to live in would be here in the U.S. in the 60’s.  I love the hippy attire, the peace signs, the idea of “Make Love Not War” and fighting for racial equality. Plus the music totally rocked.

3 thoughts on “Dragons by Jaycee Edward @JayceeEdward @GoIndiMarketing”

  1. What a great interview and I’m glad there will be more Shane and Tommy. I get why you can only write their story in bits and pieces though, the flash fics have had me in tears without fail.

Leave a Reply

