Spontaneity by Erik Clarke. VBT for Wonder

Erik Clarke blog tour for Wonder

ErikClarke_Wonder_BlogTour_BlogDates_final

 Spontaneity

 

I’d be the first to admit that I’m a shy, socially-anxious person who’s not the best with surprises. I like to know what I’m getting into– when there’s a party I’m supposed to attend, I want to know who’s going to be there; if we’re going to see a movie, I want to know which one and what it’s about. For me, in most cases, spontaneity just goes hand in hand with anxiety. But when it comes to writing, for as nervous as it can make me, spontaneity is an almost-constant companion.

Some writers need to have everything in a certain condition before they can write: they have to be at their desk, or at their table; music has to be on, or maybe it has to be completely silent. There is a system to their writing, some might even call it a ritual to get them in the condition to write. In some ways, I wish that I could be like that. If I had that kind of stability in the way I write, maybe I would write more consistently. As it is, I’m just as likely to go ten days without writing as I am to sit down and knock out ten thousand words at a stretch. Between being full time both at school and at my job, my opportunities to write aren’t always easy to plan, or in one set place. Most of the time, my desk is so messy with everything else going on in my life that there’s no way I could write at it. I’ve written some of my best work in the middle of class, when I really should have been listening to my professor’s lectures.

But my propensity for spontaneity goes deeper than that, to the body of the writing itself, not just the circumstances that cause it. In the past, I always tried to work out every single detail of a story before I even wrote a single word of narrative. Not just plot summaries, either– detailed character analysis, rich back history that was never going to even be mentioned in the novel, drawings of the people and the places and even the modes of transportation. I created entire sagas in my head and on paper, plans for a ten book series when I hadn’t so much as written the words “Chapter One”. But the problem was that I never actually wrote those words. I became so enamored with the details that I was paralyzed at the thought of actually giving it a shot in case I couldn’t do justice to my own plans.

It wasn’t until I finally did what I had once considered unthinkable and just put fingers to the keyboard with little more than a rough idea that I managed to get anything done, and that was how I finally starting finishing the books that I had started. The entire way, it was a nerve racking experience, not knowing where I was going, letting the characters speak to me in the moment and creating a plot on the fly. When I freed myself to actually change the things that I had planned, to adapt the story to make it better that was when I was finally able to write things that I was really proud of. Spontaneity as a concept may make my stomach turn, but somehow, when it comes to the actual application of it in my writing, it’s always served me well.

 

wonder_800Blurb for Wonder:

This is book three in the Spellbound series, see the full series listing here

 

To find out the truth and join with his Vampire mate, Blake may have to pay a steep price—his sanity.

It’s not that Blake Hollister doesn’t want to be the mate of the town’s resident hottie Vampire, Adam Harkin—just the opposite. With everything else in his life going to hell, that’s the one thing that Blake wants more than anything. But fate has other ideas. Blake is Dormant, meaning his magical powers never manifested when he came of age, leaving him doomed to be forever connected with magic, but never able to access it. Sex between magical beings and non-magics is risky at first and becomes exponentially more dangerous, and Adam isn’t willing to harm his mate, effectively pausing their relationship until some solution can be found.

At the same time, darker things are manifesting in Kelvin. Secrets buried in the ruins of the town’s old amusement park, Wonderworld, threaten to destroy the fragile peace. And when Blake finally convinces Adam to give sex a shot despite the risk, the destructive effects on his mind that he tries to hide threaten to drive him insane. Blake’s once structured life begins to shatter—days turn into fractured memories of events he can’t be sure really occurred, a broken slideshow of nightclubs, theme parks, and torrid sex. Dreams and reality, past and present, betrayal and loyalty are all on a collision course, and at the center stands the mercury-eyed fantasy whom Blake is beginning to think he might love—if the long-forgotten truth about Adam’s brutal change from human to Vampire doesn’t turn the entire town against each other first…

 

Like the sound of Wonder? Buy it here: https://www.totallybound.com/wonder?utm_source=houseofalisa&utm_medium=blogtour&utm_campaign=wonderblogtour

 

About Erik Clarke:

Erik Clarke is still trying to figure out how to balance work, school, writing, and the ever—elusive “social life”. He’s also still trying to figure out when the outlandish plots and crazy characters he’d scribbled into the margins of his notebooks for years somehow coalesced into an actual novel.

Born in Ohio and now struggling through the constant love/hate relationship that is living in the beautiful but sweltering Arizona landscape, Erik is thankful every day for the incredible, supportive family and friends that surround him—and for the sheer joy that writing two characters to their happily ever can bring.

 

One thought on “Spontaneity by Erik Clarke. VBT for Wonder”

Leave a Reply

