Author interview with Nana Prah @NanaPrah

Nana Prah was born in Ghana, West Africa, raised in the US and currently resides in Ghana where she loves her job as a writer and nurse educator. She has been writing since she can remember (in her journal) and has been an avid reader of romance novels since the eighth grade. She has finally been able to utilize the years and years of inadvertent research into writing her own romance novels where love always conquers all.

Describe your novel in seven words or less?
Unique multicultural sweet romance set in Africa

If you were a tree (or animal) what kind of tree (animal) would you be?
Definitely an elephant. They’re gentle, family oriented, and have no natural enemies (except for marcher or is it army?) ants, which they fear and humans). That’s because they can kick ass when the occasion arises. Just like me.

 Do you have a specific writing style?
I consider myself a straight to the point person in life. This is how I write. You won’t skip whole pages about furniture descriptions when you read my books. I give you enough to get into the world of the character, but not so much that you get bored. Some people like all of that description, but I don’t so I avoid it.

If you could be any character in fiction, whom would you be? Why?
Stephanie Plum. Can you fault me? I’d get Joe Morelli and Ranger. Yummy. I’d laugh everyday with Lula at my side. I could do without finding dead bodies all over the place and blowing up cars. Wait, the car part would be fun.

 If you were a Star Trek or Star Wars character, which one would it be?
I’m all about The Next Generation. Before I settled on being a romance blog, I wrote a post about this question. Yes I’m a geek of massive proportions. I’d choose to be Lieutenant Commander Worf. He’s awesome. Tough with tender side you wouldn’t expect. You’d never see him eradicated from the show at the first sign of trouble.

 If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be – please explain?
Chick is Strange but Loveable

Everyone has that weird friend. I tend to be it for most of mine. Oddness aside, I try to be as peaceful and kind as I can to the world.

What are 4 things you never leave home without (apart from keys, money and phone)?
Lipstick or lip-gloss. I must keep my lips supple and enticing.

My Kindle or a book. I’ll go back to the house if I don’t have it with me.

A notepad and pen to write my random thoughts and observations

Gum just in case my breath becomes a little funky. I don’t need to offend anyone during a conversation. I’m generous to offer just in case they’re offending me.

Top 3 favorite movies
The Matrix (I consider all three to be one movie for this question.) I won’t get started on why because this post would get ridiculously long.

The Princess Bride

The Color Purple

I never noticed how much I like movies that start with ‘The.’

If you only had six months to live what would you do with the time you had left?

I would pretty much live the way I do now. Life for me is a temporary event and everyday is meant to be enjoyed. With that said, I admit that I’d tell mean people off a little bit more (then apologize once they’ve stopped crying), exercise less, and eat everything I desire, namely chocolate, without worrying about getting fatter.

 What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The editing, especial extracting more emotion from the heroine, Ora, in Midwife to Destiny. My awesome editor, Zee Monodee, told me I could do it. I kept growling, but I dug deep and got it done. I was proud of myself when a friend told me she’d cried during that emotional part. Isn’t it the best to upset people with your writing?

Is there any additional info you would like to share with your readers about what’s next for you and your books?

I’m in second round edits with what I like to call my prison novel through Black Opal Books. Love Undercover is about a Secret Service agent, Sarita Cerez, who goes to jail to protect the daughter of a diplomat who’s found herself in a tad bit of trouble. The agent ends up finding an inconvenient love in Matthew Carter.

Keep an eye out for book two of the Destiny Series through Decadent Publishing, Destiny Mine, which will be released this year. It features Ora’s sassy cousin, Esi and womanizer Adam who happens to be Jason’s best friend.

Where can readers stalk…um…I mean, find you?

Blog : www.nanaprah.blogspot.com

Twitter: @NanaPrah

Facebook: Nana Prah, Author

Midwife To Destinyhigh-resBlurb

Ghanaian nurse Aurora ‘Ora’ Aikins never expected to find the love of her life while on vacation in South Africa. Engaged to another and believing that love has no place in her life, she returns to Ghana, and puts duty and honor first.

Three years later, Dr. Jason Lartey still can’t get Ora out of his mind or his heart. After learning she never married, he takes a risk and moves to Ghana hoping to rekindle what they started. His sudden appearance in Ora’s Emergency Department sends sparks flying all over again.

They’re in the same country, working in the same hospital, and together but distance creeps between them. Can they make their destined love one for the ages?

Buy Links

Amazon | Decadent |ARe | Barnes & Noble| Smashwords

2 thoughts on “Author interview with Nana Prah @NanaPrah”

  1. If I’m leaving a second comment thanking you for hosting me, then I apologize for the redundancy, but I don’t see the one I left yesterday. Thank you for hosting me on your blog, Alisa.

    1. no apologies needed, my dear….for some reason the other post didn’t go thru….in either case you are more than welcome! me daa si to you for blogging with us! *winks* -alisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

