Why we love a kick ass heroine…by Nina Croft

ooc-blogtour

I occasionally go back and read one of the books I loved when I was younger, and honestly, some of the heroines are positively feeble. They tended to be young, ravishingly beautiful, innocent, and in desperate need of some man to come along and save them. The closest they got to kick ass was feisty. Give me a heroine like that these days, and I’d probably throw the book across the room (or more likely delete it from my kindle).

No, these days, I like a good strong, kick ass heroine. By that I don’t mean they always have to be ready to literally shoot down anyone who stands in their way (though I must admit I’m partial to the shooter types), but they must be able to deal with the crap life throws them without relying on someone else to sort things out.

Here’s a few of the reasons why I think we love a kick ass heroine:

  • When I read a book, especially a romance, I want to identify with the heroine. When I was little (a long time ago) I wanted to grow up to be an assassin, or a spy or an explorer… well you get the picture. So it stands to reason that I identify with tough women (even if in reality I turned out a bit of a wimp).
  • And I want to fall in love with the hero. How can I fall in love with a man I don’t respect, and how can I respect a man who falls in love with a wimp, even if she is beautiful!
  • I want the heroine to be worthy of the hero. If I can’t have him then it’s because some great woman who truly deserves him has captured his heart, not some whiny, too stupid to live, beautiful young thing, who has absolutely no clue how to shoot a pistol and protect her man.
  • Long gone is the time when we were happy to wait for some man to come along and save us, or the world. These days, if there’s anything at all out there in need of saving, then we want to be the ones to do it.
  • And finally, I love the moment when a really tough heroine shows her vulnerable side, the side that only the hero gets to see, and only after he’s proved he’s worthy.

When I was plotting my contemporary series, Babysitting a Billionaire, I wanted to write about strong kick ass women. So I decided to write a series about women who work as bodyguards and spend their days keeping their men safe. Not that the men involved are always appreciative, but it’s great to see an alpha male struggling to accept that his woman is strong enough to protect him. Here’s Dani from my latest release, Out of Control, showing just how kick-ass she can be…

 “You don’t think I’m strong enough? You don’t think I could take you?” She took a step toward him and poked him in the chest. Hard.

He unfolded his arms and straightened away from the desk. She wanted a fight? Maybe he should give her one. “No. I don’t think a woman can take a man. The size is too different.” He cast his eyes down her tiny figure and drawled, “You’re too small.”

Her eyes narrowed to slits. Then she spun around and high-kicked him in the chest. He went to the floor with a crash and lay staring up at the ceiling.

Shit. That hurt, and not just his male pride.

It felt as though he’d been hit by a truck.

He turned his head as she came to stand beside him, then toed him in the chest with one sneaker-clad foot.

“So? Still think a woman can’t take a man?”

Who are your favorite kick ass heroines, and why do you love them?

Buy Out of Control by Nina Croft

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Entangled:

Entangled Brazen:

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BrazenBooks

Twitter: @BrazenBooks  Steals and Deals

Author Bio: Nina Croft grew up in the north of England. After training as an accountant, she spent four years working as a volunteer in Zambia, which left her with a love of the sun and a dislike of nine-to-five work. She then spent a number of years mixing travel (whenever possible) with work (whenever necessary) but has now settled down to a life of writing and picking almonds on a remote farm in the mountains of southern Spain. Nina writes all types of romance, often mixed with elements of the paranormal and science fiction.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Newsletter

Giveaway Info: $25 Amazon Gift Card via a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “Why we love a kick ass heroine…by Nina Croft”

Leave a Reply

