bitches be writin’ interview session with cara marsi

Cara Marsi, an award-winning author and self-proclaimed TV junkie, is a former corporate drone and cubicle dweller. Freed from her fabric-covered cage, she can now indulge her love of all things romance. She craves books with happy endings and loves to write about independent heroines and the strong heroes who love them. And she loves to put her characters in dangerous situations or situations merely dangerous to their hearts and watch them fight for the happy endings they deserve.

An eclectic author, Cara is published in romantic suspense, paranormal romance, and contemporary romance. She’s also published numerous short romance stories in national women’s magazines and online. When not traveling or dreaming of traveling, Cara and her husband live on the East Coast in a house ruled by their fat black diva of a cat named Killer.

Thank you for having me today, Alisa. I’m thrilled to be here, and I hope your followers enjoy my interview. Here goes:

If you were given a chance to travel back in time, what year or place would you go and why?

I’d go to Ancient Rome around 30 AD. I love Rome, modern and ancient, and I love that time in history. Not really sure why as it was a very brutal period. I believe I lived there in another life. I can picture myself dressed in a silk toga and sitting on a marble bench in my garden, under a lemon tree, waiting for my lover, a hunky Roman soldier.

 If you were an animal what kind of animal would you be?

A cat, of course. What other kind of animal is there?

 What’s in your refrigerator right now?

Leftover pizza and wings, yogurt, fresh fruit and veggies, cheese, bagel thins, lettuce, milk, wine, water, hot peppers, turkey tenderloin (for dinner), and assorted jellies and spreads. Not only am I an eclectic writer, I’m an eclectic eater too.

 What inspired you to write your first book?   

I always wanted to be a writer, but life got in the way. One day, some years back, a friend and I were trading Harlequin romances. We looked at each other and said, “We could write one of these.” That was all the encouragement I needed. I found out writing is hard work, filled with rejections and setbacks, but it’s also one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done. It took ten long, hard years for me to sell my first book, to Avalon Books. That book, A Catered Affair, came out in hardback. I now have all the rights and published it digitally under the title, A Catered Romance. I also added back all the love scenes I had to take out to submit to Avalon, which published only “sweet” romances.

 Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I get ideas from current events, from movies, from things that happened to me. I put a little bit of myself into everything I write. But there are certain personal experiences that I won’t ever tell and that you won’t see in a book.

If someone wrote a biography about you, what do you think the title should be – please explain?

he title should be, “Sometimes She Had Pink Hair.” At this moment I have fuchsia streaks in my blonde-highlighted hair. I lead a pretty dull life, so I like to shake things up once in a while, to express myself in pink hair, green toenail polish, and lots of rings on my fingers.

Describe your novel in seven words or less?

Logan's Redemption, new, 200x300

Logan’s Redemption (Redemption Book 1)–Love, lies, betrayal, danger, second chances

How many novels, short stories have you published?

Right now, I have 22 novels and short stories available. In addition, I’ve published a dozen short romance stories in national women’s magazines.

How do you describe sex scenes and keep them from becoming repetitive?

Writing sex scenes is very difficult. (I hesitate to use the word, “hard”). I’m constantly looking for ways to describe the same positions and body parts. Each sex scene is unique to the characters in whatever story I’m writing. I have to keep that in mind. I usually write the first draft of a sex scene to make sure the mechanics work, that Part A fits into Part B, etc. Then I go back and refine and refine to add the feelings, the romance.

Which of the characters in your erotic romance/erotica would you most want to run away with for a weekend?

Most of my stories are sensual rather than erotic, but I have one very steamy romance, Storm of Desire, that reviewers have called erotic. My hero is Aiden, and he is so damn sexy, loving, warm, and he likes cats. What more can a woman ask for? I’d gladly spend a weekend with him, if my husband will let me.

Is there any additional info you would like to share with your readers about what’s next for you and your books?

I’m writing Redemption Book 3, Anita’s Temptation, and hope to have it out late in 2014 or early 2015. I’m also working with an editor at a publishing house to expand a very steamy short story into a very steamy novella. I’m not at liberty to say much more about that one. I love writing short stories so I will be writing a few more of them in between the books.

Where can readers stalk…um…I mean, find you?

LOL! You can stalk me at Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest, and at my website, http://www.caramarsi.com.

 I’m always interested in making new friends.

Twitter Address: @CaraMarsi

 Facebook Address: http://www.facebook.com/authorcaramarsi

 Pinterest Address: http://pinterest.com/caramarsi/

Note: Logan’s Redemption (Redemption Book 1) is on sale for 99 cents until April 13, 2014, at Amazon, BN Nook and iBooks.

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0040JI3PG/?tag=carmaraut-20

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Logans-Redemption/Cara-Marsi/e/2940011847288

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/Logan’s-Redemption/id841170077?mt=11

4 thoughts on “bitches be writin’ interview session with cara marsi”

  1. What a fabulous interview! I loved learning more about you! I am so jealous of the pink streak in your hair. I am so ready for some travel and less time at work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

