can anyone write romantic/erotic fiction by nicole helm

Hi, everyone! Thanks so much for having me today and asking me to blog about this topic. Can anyone write romantic/erotic fiction? That’s a really interesting question considering when I started writing full-length novels, I shut that bedroom door so hard there were reverberations!

I thought I’d always write like that. Writing about sex seemed so…scary. I didn’t have a problem reading romances with sex in them, but I knew there were people who knew me, who were related to me, who would read my books. So, sex…no.

And then I was offered my first publishing contract with the caveat that the shut-door love scene would need to be fully realized.

Eek!

I think I wrote most of that scene with my eyes closed, or a permanent blush on my face, but the bottom line was…it was kind of important. To the story, to the characters, it added to their growing relationship and it made the journey of their relationship stronger.

So, the next book I wrote I didn’t even consider closing the door. And the next book I sold had quite a bit of sex in it. Which happened to be the first book in my Harrington Airfield series, Seven Night Stand. I actually had to cut scenes from both that book and my current release, Risky Return.

So, yes, I do think anyone can write fully realized sex scenes if they want to. If they believe it’s important to the story. If they believe what the characters feel and do during those scenes reflects upon their character arc. I do think believing in the importance of the physical relationship of your characters is key.

Sometimes it takes getting over that awkward oh Lord my Grandma’s going to read this and just believe in what you’re writing no matter what anyone else thinks.

Again, thanks for so much for having me today!

Be sure to check out Nicole’s book, Risky Return!

rr-1Blurb: Blackmail never felt so right.
Celia Grant has spent the last ten years keeping her past at bay, building her Hollywood reputation as America’s Sweetheart. When ex-boyfriend Ryan Harrington threatens to reveal her darkest secrets, she has no choice but to return to Demo, Kansas, and the people she left behind. In exchange for Ryan’s silence, she will appear in a reality television show that promises to save his family’s legacy.

Ryan Harrington knows an opportunity when he sees one, and using Celia to save his family is one he can’t ignore. But he didn’t count on the pull they still have on each other.

Celia reminds herself that she and Ryan were never destined to have a happily ever after ending like in the movies she stars in. But even as the ghosts of her past refuse to be suppressed any longer, she finds herself tempted by the hopes of a love she never thought she could have.

Between secrets, fame, and love, Celia’s made the riskiest return of all.

Risky Return Links:
Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | Entangled


Author Bio:
Nicole Helm grew up with her nose in a book and a dream of becoming a writer. Luckily, after a few failed career choices, a husband, and two kids, she gets to pursue that dream.

Nicole lives in Missouri with her husband and two sons, and writes her novels one baby’s nap at a time. She’s slightly (okay, totally) addicted to Twitter (@nicolethelm), loves watching the St. Louis Cardinals, and her dream is to someday own a barn.

Buy Links:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Indulgence’s Links:
Facebook | Twitter

Risky Return by Nicole Helm

2 thoughts on “can anyone write romantic/erotic fiction by nicole helm”

Leave a Reply

