toy story…the treasure in your nightstand by elizabeth lister

I received my very first sex toy from my boyfriend-at-the-time for Christmas when I was twenty-six. His mom was in the sex toy business it seemed, and he was able to get it for a good price. This fact, and the reality of being presented with a vibrator as a gift as though it was the most normal thing in the world, really had an effect on my attitude toward sex and self pleasure ever after. It may not have been the most romantic or thoughtful gift, but it was downright practical.

We eventually broke up and I replaced the basic plastic vibrator he’d given me with a snazzier leopard print model, one that I selected myself for my very personal use. It served me well for many years and, once I became comfortable browsing the local sex shop, was replaced by more and more sophisticated models.

I say more sophisticated because I don’t mean fancier. In fact, I eventually abandoned the classic vibrator for the dildo, an even simpler device that has been around in one form or another for centuries, if not millennium. Turns out I’m a sensitive soul and don’t need the bells and whistles of a vibrator or rabbit to blow my mind. No, sir, the simple dildo will do just fine.

Nowadays, dildos come in so many different variations. There are latex models, realistic looking dildos, dildos shaped like body parts other than penises, stainless steel dildos and, my favorite, the tempered glass dildo. Some of the glass dildos are so pretty they could be mistaken for art pieces.

glassworks-bubblegum

And why not? Shouldn’t I own something that is as beautiful as it is functional? And believe me, those glass dildos get the job done. Because they are non-porous, they are easy to clean and require minimal lubrication. You can even warm them up in your hand first if you like. They eventually accommodate to your body temperature anyway.

The thing is, a sex toy should be a treasure in your nightstand. It is a valuable key to your own pleasure and independence as a sexual being.  By all means, incorporate it into lovemaking with your significant other. But keep it where you can reach it when he’s not available or not in the mood (this occasionally does happen) or if you just want some special alone time.

~ Liz

NEW RELEASE – The Cross and the Trinity – Hot off the presses as of yesterday!

18136294

Tate and Sebastian are having trouble maintaining a successful monogamous relationship. When trust is betrayed and old friends reappear, the men are faced with the challenge of making things work or changing the way they will be together. Nobody ever said relationships were easy, and when sexy Dom James Lucas swoops in at the right time, things get even more complicated. Or do they? Do gay men have to tow the traditional line, or is there room for a new definition of true love?

It has already received 4/5 stars from Prism Book Alliance and 5/5 stars at The Blogger Girls. This book is the sequel to Beyond the Edge, which received an Honorable Mention from the NLA-International for excellence in SM/Leather/Fetish writing.

The Cross and The Trinity struck me as a weightier read than Beyond The Edge. It looks at the fragility of life and there is even a bit of a philosophical bent. Don’t get me wrong, there is kinky sex galore-Ms. Lister can write some kinky sex like nobody’s business-and the fetish party sequence still makes my pupils dilate just thinking about it, but there is also depth and emotionality that moved me. I would categorize it much the same as its predecessor as a slice of life tale with infinitely relatable characters.

~ Optimist King’s Wench, Prism Book Alliance, 2014

Where to buy: http://www.mlrbooks.com/ShowAuthorBooks.php?list=_ABKLIST072&author=Elizabeth!Lister

Website/blog: http://elizabethlister.wordpress.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/moderneroticromance

 

Leave a Reply

