bitches be writin’ interview sessions with j.s. wayne

Welcome J.S. Wayne to Bitches Be Writin’ Interview Sessions.

Born in Amarillo, Texas, J.S. Wayne has lived, worked, and traveled in approximately three quarters of the North American continent, and has amassed a résumé that could kindly be described as “eclectic.” He currently resides in Southern Utah, where he attends Southern Utah University as an undergraduate English major with a creative writing emphasis. He is actively involved with the Kolob Canyon Review, SUU’s literary journal, is an Honors student and member of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honors society, and is the founder and CEO of Writing Out Child Abuse, a charitable initiative to raise funds and awareness for survivors of child abuse worldwide.

J.S.’s work has been published through  Cleis Press; Black Velvet Seductions in partnership with Writing Out Child Abuse; the Kolob Canyon Review; Erotic Romance Authors; and Changeling Press. He currently has a number of WIPs and submissions in a range of genres from erotic romance to Western horror. He has also self-published one urban fantasy novel, Shadowphoenix: Requiem, and one paranormal suspense novel, Wail.

If you could be any character in fiction, whom would you be? Why?

I would be Thomas Raith, from Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files. He feeds upon sexual energy, looks amazing pretty much no matter what, is L-O-A-D-E-D, and has women throwing themselves at him on a regular basis. (Oh, and he gets to look like one of those guys from 300 without having to use CGI.) Sure, his pack of White Court awesome comes with its share of headaches, but see above regarding women throwing themselves at him!

If you were a Star Trek or Star Wars character, which one would it be?

GOOD question! I’d like to think I’m Han Solo, roguish and charming but always there for my friends when the chips are down. Personality-wise, though, I’m a lot more Siddius than Solo. I like gaining information, and have a knack for learning things the powers that be wish I didn’t. Of course, I never tell everything I know, and I’m very careful NEVER to disclose my sources even when I’m confronting said powers with “Look, I KNOW you’re lying to me, so let’s save some time, hmm?” Besides… the Death Star kicks the Millenium Falcon’s ass, and Force Lightning beats the shit out of Force Choking!  (My friend Josh would strenuously disagree with my assessment of the Falcon…)

Do you prefer fantasy or reality and why?

I prefer fantasy any day. The real world’s kind of a drag, to quote The Buckinghams. Bills, work, school, endless headaches and frustrations, and the sheer level of weapons-grade stupidity just floating around out there on its own is enough to make even the most optimistic people person want to lie down in a quiet room. (And since I think cynics are cute and fluffy, and prefer persons over people any day of the week, I long for a desert island most of the time!) Fantasy is better because I can create anything I want and shape the world to my tastes. Sexy angels? On it. On another planet? Sure, why not? Werewolves, banshees, aliens, deities? Sounds like a plan to me! How about a world where the sun never rises, but it’s still 100 degrees outside all day long? FUCK YEAH! (This particular fantasy came about because of -9F temperatures in Southern Utah two days before the end of the fall semester. Cold weather makes me grumpy.)

What are your pet peeves?

As mentioned above, I hate, loathe, and despise cold. I also don’t appreciate stupidity, prejudice, or intolerance of any kind. My personal favorite gripe right now is people who knock on my door while I’m working and want to have a half-hour discourse on my relationship with God. Funny: they never seem to believe I’m an erotic romance author until I show them a few covers and my business card.

And I cannot STAND those people who think they know everything about erotic romance because they read (or worse, only heard of) Fifty Shades of Gray. “Oh, so what you write is like…” Well, yeah, in the same sense that black is on the same color chart as pink. Same concept, vastly different outcome. 😀

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! Here’s a scene from my forthcoming novel with Changeling Press, Dusk, coming Thursday. I hope y’all enjoy it!

“It’s really quite beautiful, isn’t it?”

If Merrick hadn’t been lowering right behind them, he might have said something stupidly romantic like, “It’s okay, but without you here, it wouldn’t mean much.” He caught himself just in time and settled for agreeing with her. “It is.”

She scooted around so she was looking him right in the eye, as if trying to see through his iris into his mind or perhaps his soul. He cringed a little on the inside, but met her eyes with all the calm and discipline his training permitted.

“I… well, we… would like to ask you something.”

He raised his eyebrows in an invitation for her to continue, not trusting himself to speak. Her proximity and the soothing, warm scent of her body teased his prick into a vertical attitude, and he was suddenly sure if he said anything, his voice would crack eight ways to Sunday.

“We would like you to… join us.” She flushed, the red color flooding her face contrasting with Astaroth’s light in a way that reinforced his initial feeling of her as someone, or something, that did not fully share the laws of regular human existence.

“Join you? Like… how?” he asked.

“Well…” She fell silent for a moment, her bottom lip thrust out so tantalizingly that for a mad instant, he was tempted to lean forward and capture it gently in his teeth. She shook her head and looked at Merrick helplessly. “Help.” The word came out as a squeak so irresistibly cute that it took everything Pete had not to lean forward and take her in his arms.

Merrick knelt down behind her. “We’re asking you if you want her.”

Pete’s eyes bulged. Of all the things he’d expected, this wasn’t within parsecs of being on the list. “Wh-what do you—”

“Look, it’s not complicated,” Merrick said impatiently. “Do you want to fuck Olivia?”

Olivia’s face was now an alarming shade of purple in Astaroth’s light, but she nodded emphatically. “I want you, Pete. More to the point, I want both of you, together, inside me. I hoped that you would want me, too.”

Pete’s mind whirled back to the Above Top Secret orders he’d received on shipboard. He’d read the orders with disgust, knowing he’d follow them if opportunity presented itself but determined to find any possible way to avoid it. Now here Olivia was, with her bodyguard/boyfriend/plaything… whatever the hell he was, asking him to fuck her with the full consent and acceptance of her man.

A surprisingly vivid and graphic image of Olivia, balanced precisely between the two men, supported by their cocks inside her and their arms around her, seared into his brain. The vision was so powerful he could feel his brain melting into goo inside his skull.

“Are you serious?” he asked, husking the words over a parched tongue and sandy lips.

For answer Merrick pulled Olivia to her feet and began to undress her. He seemed to know exactly in what order to pull on the straps comprising her outfit to reveal her skin.

Pete watched as Merrick pressed his lips to Olivia’s ear, her cheek, and the smooth, graceful curve of her jaw, holding her hair, deep blue in the moonlight, out of the way. As each strap released tension, a little more of Olivia’s long torso was revealed, a tortuous striptease more erotic than anything Pete had ever imagined before. The creamy upper slope of her breast peeked out as the strap concealing it fell away… and then the tight nipple, dark and proud, burst forth from its containment in full, magnificent view.

Why did you start writing erotic/erotic romance fiction?         

I actually took my first stab at erotic romance back in 2010, just as a one-off thing. I’d found this contest on Writing.com and the lady running it specified paranormal erotica, with bonus points for romantic elements. I whipped up a dark erotic vampire-ghost lesbian fantasy set in Romania…and WON! I started it as a goof, a way to stretch my writing muscles in a way I hadn’t thought of before, but 4 (soon to be 5) novels, 6 short stories, and 9 novellas later, I think I’ve found my true literary love and passion in erotic romance.

Can anyone write erotic fiction?

I think writing erotic fiction is like anything else. A good imagination and a basic command of language coupled with the ability to tell a good story will take you far, but you have to be willing to explore beyond a basic formula or character set and learn more about the craft of writing. It’s also important to explore your sexuality and try new things, especially if you’re going to write about things outside your comfort zone or experience. For example, I’ve read a lot of stories written by virgins that contain sexual content, and while there’s nothing innately wrong with being a virgin per se, it’s a severe handicap to writing erotica. That doesn’t mean it can’t be done, but it’s like working wood (ahem) if you’ve never seen a lathe before. It’s going to be a hell of a stumbling block to overcome. If you want an example of bad erotic fiction, pick up a copy of Letters to Penthouse…and then DON’T write like that. Get yourself a mentor who’s been there and done that and listen to what he or she tells you. It may not make you a “great” writer, but it can certainly help make you a better one.

How much does your own sexuality come into play when writing erotic fiction?

My sexuality is very much a factor in my writing, for a number of reasons. I think it’s really important that my erotic scenes turn me on. If they feel flat and lifeless while I’m writing them, it’s far less likely that a reader is going to enjoy them, so I have to write them in a way that makes them sexy to me first and foremost. That can be kind of a weird feeling because I identify as a hetero male, which makes writing gay romance a unique challenge for me. I have to put myself in a headspace where I can find a male attractive and understand how men would be sexually attracted to each other. For me, and I think for many erotic romance writers, the page is a safe place to explore desires that we might not consciously want to act on in the real world or even really consider. This is perhaps especially true of my lesbian romance works: since I’m a man, that whole world is closed to me, but I appreciate the female form far more than the male, so getting two women together in one bed, if only in my imagination, is as close as I can ever hope to come to exploring lesbian love and sex.

How did you learn to write good sex?

*laughs* By having a LOT of it, and reading a LOT of it! I learned over time that what works with a given person won’t do anything for the next person in line, and that sexuality is a very individual thing even if the basic anatomy remains the same. (For some reason, in my experience, a lot of women start with a man who enjoys being handled roughly. This causes hard feelings when I say, “Um…it’s not a bicycle pump!”) Of course, being able to do something and translate it to the page are two very different, if related, skill sets. I committed the usual sins starting out: too many hands or legs in one place, or a woman’s performing fellatio and riding a man at the same time, things which are clearly impossible at once without some kind of intervening motion or some anatomical refinements on someone’s part. The best way to learn anything is by doing it, and this applies both to the sexual act itself and the art and craft of reproducing it on the page. Anyone who’s going to write sex had damn well better be comfortable both with their own desires and being willing to discuss them openly, because that’s exactly what you’re doing every single time you write anything, but perhaps most intimately when writing sex scenes!

Do you like pushing the envelope?

I LOVE pushing the envelope! Being a hetero man in the romance world which is still very much a girls’ club in many ways creates its own set of problems and rewards, as does being a published undergrad in an academic environment that values “literary” fiction over all else. However, I enjoy the challenges this poses and I like being able to show that there really is no difference between the genders, in intellectual or romantic capacity. You have that configuration of plumbing and complex of desires and things that turn you on; I have this one. The thing that attracts me to romance, and always will, is that no matter what the gender pairings or variations involved, no matter what supernatural creatures are brought into it to awaken the inner beast or flirt with our innate dread/desire for death, romance at its heart is about the human experience, the things that bring us together. As long as there are human beings, there will be romance, and I think we could all do worse than try to bring a little more joy, love and tenderness into a world that too often seems to lack any.

Is there any additional info you would like to share with your readers about what’s next for you and your books?

JSW_Dusk_large

Dusk is the first installment in a three-book series with Changeling Press. The second, Dusk: Darkness Rising, will be dropping sometime in May, and the third, Dusk: Tides of Astaroth, will be coming in July. I’m also working on a retooling of my first published erotic romances into a full-length (95-ish K words) novel called Soulbearer. There’s always something new in my world, so be sure to stalk me for all the latest!

Where can readers stalk…um…I mean, find you?

I can be found at the following places:

http://jswayne.wordpress.com (my blog)

https://facebook.com/js.wayne.5 (my Facebook)

https://twitter.com/Author_JSWayne (Twitter)

jswayne702@gmail.com (my email)

http://changelingpress.com/catalog.php?upt=book&ufilter=search&keywords=J.S.+Wayne (This doesn’t always work. If it doesn’t, go to http://changelingpress.com and search for J.S. Wayne!)

Feel free to stalk, snoop around, or just say howdy! I love talking to readers and writers, so don’t be shy…I’m sure the hell not! 😉 Thank you all so much for coming by and spending a little time with me. I had a great time and I hope y’all did too!

4 thoughts on “bitches be writin’ interview sessions with j.s. wayne”

Leave a Reply

