steamy sex scene and why I want to go to there – sabrina york, her royal hotness

Sabrina_head_logoFirst of all, let’s get one thing straight. I never intended to be an erotic romance author. I was minding my own business, writing historical and contemporary romance that didn’t sell, when all of a sudden, right out of the blue, some editor decided she liked my work.

What the hell is up with that?

Anyway, the pieces she happened to like just happened to be really steamy (and by really steamy I mean REALLY steamy, as in tie-me-to-the-chair-and-please-spank-me-sir, steamy). And POOF. Just like that, I was an erotic romance author.

Not that I minded. I have always enjoyed writing sex scenes and always secretly veered toward kink. And as long as I was writing this hot, sweaty give-it-to-me-hard stuff, it was almost as though, in some shadowed, cobweb-infested corner of the universe, I was actually having a sex life to speak of.

So, for the past two years, I have been gleefully writing just that. Romance (which I LOVE) flavored with a hint of humor and a whole big fat dollop of heat. It is awesome. Especially when I hear from readers about how much they liked this or loved that except of course, when they wander into the TMI category. Then I just smile and nod and say something pithy like, “it’s nice that your husband crawled off the sofa and banged you last night.”

It hasn’t always been easy.

Oh no. There are challenges.

For one thing, there are only so many ways people can go about this thang called love. It can be difficult getting creative while staying within the realms of earthly physics. (Which is why I am contemplating a Sexy Space Opera.)

For another, I write historical as well as contemporary sex. Who knew historical sex could be so different? For example, I had to completely rewrite a perfectly sexy scene when I learned, to my horror, people in the time period I was wiring DIDN’T WEAR UNDERWEAR.

Okay. First of all, eww.

Second of all, I had to rewrite a scorching scene where he made her strip down to her skivvies—to her aroused mortification of course—and prance around the library. I was inconsolable for a week. That was a very awesome scene, if I do say so myself. And I do.

And the final issue I have with my sex scenes is that apparently I write them too hot. Editors’ eyes burn to a crisp just glancing at them. Needless to say, I often find errors in my sex scenes when they come back from beta.

I have to scour them, literally scour them. Over and over, checking for misspellings, misplaced, ahem, modifiers and split infinitives. It is practically a farce how  many dangling participles can be found.

But that brings me back to why I LOVE writing sexy romance. Because it’s fun. It’s fun to write and it’s fun to read and it’s fun to edit.

Over and Over again.

For a taste of my mischievousness, download a free copy of my teaser book, which includes blurbs and excerpts from my available books as well as some comments from readers (http://sabrinayork.com/home-2/sabrina-yorks-teaser-book/).

Happy reading, darlings. And if you happen to find a dangling participle in one of my sex scenes…please don’t tell anyone.

Especially me.

 About Sabrina York

Her Royal Hotness, Sabrina York is the award winning author of over 20 hot, humorous stories for smart and sexy readers. Her titles range from sweet & sexy erotic romance to scorching BDSM. Connect with her on twitter @sabrina_york, on Facebook or on Pintrest. Check out Sabrina’s books and read an excerpt on Amazon or wherever e-books are sold. Visit her webpage at www.sabrinayork.com to check out her books, excerpts and contests. Free Teaser Book: http://sabrinayork.com/home-2/sabrina-yorks-teaser-book/ And don’t forget to enter to win the royal tiara!

 Books by Sabrina York

adamsobsession_msr           darkduke_msr          devlins-dare-web-copy

Adam’s Obsession (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

Dark Duke (Erotic Regency, Ellora’s Cave) —Coming soon

Brigand (Erotic Regency, Ellora’s Cave) —Coming soon

Dark Fancy (Erotic Regency, Ellora’s Cave)

Devlin’s Dare: A Tryst island Erotic Romance (Erotic Contemporary)

Dragonfly Kisses: A Tryst Island Erotic Romance (Erotic Contemporary)

Extreme Couponing (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

Fierce (One Night Stand, Decadence Press)

Five Alarm Fire (Erotic Contemporary for the High Octane Heroes Anthology, Cleis Press)

Folly (Erotic Regency, Ellora’s Cave)

Heart of Ash: A Tryst Island Erotic Romance (Erotic Contemporary)

Lust Eternal (Erotic Fantasy, Ellora’s Cave)

Pushing Her Buttons (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

Making Over Maris (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

Man Hungry (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

Rebound: A Tryst Island Erotic Romance (Erotic Contemporary, Available on Amazon)

Rebound is now available on Smashwords

Rising Green (Erotic Horror, Ellora’s Cave)

Saving Charlotte (Erotic Contemporary for the Smokin’ Hot Firemen Anthology, Cleis Press)

Smoking Holt: A Tryst Island Erotic Romance (Erotic Contemporary)

Training Tess (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

Trickery (Erotic Contemporary with Magical Elements, Ellora’s Cave Hex Line)

Tristan’s Temptation (Erotic Contemporary, Ellora’s Cave)

CURRENT PROMOS

Most recent release! Making Over Maris http://www.amazon.com/Making-Over-Maris-3-Wired-ebook/dp/B00GGMWAGS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385351920&sr=8-1&keywords=making+over+maris

Free Teaser Book: http://sabrinayork.com/home-2/sabrina-yorks-teaser-book/

Newsletter & contest: http://sabrinayork.com/sabrinas-contest-and-newsletter/

Enter to win a signed print copy of scorching Regency romance, Dark Fancy on Goodreads! https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17409083-dark-fancy

FOLLOW SABRINA

Like my Facebook Author Page https://www.facebook.com/SabrinaYorkBooks

Follow me on Twitter @sabrina_york

Follow me on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5817917.Sabrina_York

Check out my Pintrest boards: http://www.pinterest.com/sabrinayork/boards/

Like my Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Sabrina-York/e/B00856PDEO/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1382929432&sr=8-2-ent

Check out my Barnes & Noble Author page: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/sabrina-york

Follow me on Ellora’s Cave: https://www.ellorascave.com/index.php/authors/index/author/slug/sabrina-york/

One thought on “steamy sex scene and why I want to go to there – sabrina york, her royal hotness”

  1. You’re a flipping riot! I almost choked at “I’m glad your husband crawled off the sofa and banged you last night.” Thanks for explaining and I promise not to tell you if I find any danglies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

