bitches be writin’ interview sessions…natalie gayle

Today, we are officially welcoming Natalie Gayle for the Bitches Be Writin’ Interview Sessions. *Waves cheerfully to Natalie in the down under*

Natalie is the author of Finding Trust, which is Book 1 of the Centre Games Series featuring Brayden and Rihanna. She lives on the Gold Coast, Australia and loves spending time with family and friends. When not sitting behind a screen playing with IT or writing, you might find her down the beach playing in the waves on a Jet Ski or a bogey board (both are uber cool). When the weather turns a bit cooler (doesn’t really happen on the Gold Coast), she and her family like to head for the snow.

Let’s get started shall we??? *rubs hands together*

Describe your novel in seven words or less

Fast, sexy, emotional, friendly, realistic

What books have influenced your writing?

Every single book I’ve ever read has influenced my writing in some way.  Whether it is to help build a story, understand dialogue, portraying characters.  They all have something to give.  Sometimes the bad ones give you even more insight than the good ones.  Sometimes it’s better to study what not to do than to try and focus on what is good, particularly when you’re trying to develop your “voice” which I am.

I’ve also studied the careers of authors as well and watched things such as how they publish, market and build a brand.  These are all very important as well.

Who is the your favourite character that you have written?

Well the truth is I haven’t really written that many – however I think my favourite female is Jazz and my favourite male is Rory.  (I’m writing his story now and I just love this guy to death – he reminds me of someone.)

Where do you get your ideas for books?

I draw ideas from everywhere.  Every character I have created has been totally “made up”.  I get a picture in my mind then start searching for a photo that looks like the image I have in my head.  Sometimes it takes weeks or months.  For example I’d almost finished Finding Trust when I stumbled over a photo that I knew was right for the Brayden in my mind.  No one else would do.

I like to sit an observe people in all sorts of situations.  You learn a lot.  Then often I start making up back stories and little conversations that they might have.  Yeah, now this is starting to sound like I’m a little nutty.  But I never claimed to be normal!

What astrological sign are you? Do you feel you are like the characteristics of your sign?

Capricorn – Yep look up Capricorn and there should be a picture of me beside the blurb – that’s how closely I fit.

Do you prefer fantasy or reality and why?

How about I change this and say – I like fantasy grounded in reality.  I love to fantasize about all sorts of stuff but I like to ground it in things that really could happen.  I guess this gives me hope that something great could, would or should come about.

How would you describe yourself/life in seven words?

Hectic, loyal, fulfilling, spontaneous, planned, direct

Favourite type of music?

I have eclectic tastes – you’ll find everything from heavy rock/metal to country to soul, to classical on my iPod.  And I play it all very loudly when I write.  But when I do IT work (my professional career) I like it to be quiet – go figure?

Here’s some of the artists my husband and I’ve seen in the last twelve moths or so.<

    • Keith Urban (twice)
    • Taylor Swift
    • Faith Hill and Tim McGraw
    • Nickelback
    • ColdPlay
    • Bruce Springsteen

I’ve got tickets to Pink as well can’t wait!  I hear Bon Jovi are touring later this year as well.

Now for the over 18  part ………

Missionary or on Top?

Both are great – but depends on the mood.  And why limit it to just these two……….?

Do you see body type as part of the character?

Absolutely. This is another vital piece of the fabric that makes the “whole” person or character.  The person is a mirage without it.

Why did you start writing erotic/erotic romance fiction?

Well I’m not sure that I’m a true erotic writer but the love scenes from Finding Trust are apparently on the hotter end of the scale.  I just wrote what felt right for the characters.  And this is what I love about self-publishing – nobody telling you that you can’t put something in your book that feels right to you as the author.

Do you feel that having a romantic plot helps or hurts an erotic piece of fiction?

I think that romance is essential for erotica to really “pop” otherwise to me its just mechanical sex acts written on a page instead of being viewed as a movie.  I think women need to feel some sort of emotional connection to the characters and the action otherwise it losses it’s power and becomes meaningless.  There’s a huge element of fantasy in here as well.  I think well written and “emotionally connected”, erotic scenes can provide nourishment and also be quite liberating for some readers.

Do you think it is best to call body parts by their anatomically correct names, or come up with euphemisms?

Totally depends on the context of the novel and the characters.  I’ve read some doozies in the past and cringed at how they sounded to me.  That’s an immediate disengagement for me as a reader.  So I try to get in the heads of these characters and figure out what they’d do or say at a particular time.

One of the hardest things to decide is just how a particular couple would behave in the bedroom and what sort of view they have on their sexuality.  When you’re creating characters you know them or what they’re like to a degree, then you have to figure out just what’s going to happen in the bedroom.  It’s just like being with a new partner all over again.  Except you get to play both the male and the female role!

Good thing I’ve got a helpful husband and a lot of male friends that have no shame if I ask questions to get a male perspective.  They secretly get a real kick out of contributing – they’d never come out and tell you that though!

Is there any additional info you would like to share with your readers about what’s next for you and your books?

Well Finding Trust is the first in the Centre Games Series.  I have several others planned.  I’m furiously working on Finding Judgement – Rory and TJ’s story.  I’m hoping to have it published around July all things being equal.  (I do have a lot of other work commitments as well!)   I also have plans for the third novel to be released just before Christmas.  (Let’s see if I can stick to my own schedule).

Where can readers stalk……um…..I mean, find you?

Checkout my website:  www.nataliegayle.com

Email me:  Natalie@nataliegayle.com.au

FBook me:  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Natalie-Gayle/434198626645578

Tweet Me:  @nataliegayle1

I try to make my website interesting.  There’s some cool videos of some jetskiing we do out off the Gold Coast.  I do recall writing a scene in Finding Trust that involved jetskis……lol.

I’ve also got character profiles on my facebook page. – I’m trying to give readers the option of becoming immersed in the world of the Centre if they want.

Oh and I love chatting to my readers and getting feedback so please drop me a line!!

Awesome interview Natalie! Thanks for stopping by and chatting with us today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

